GYB Journalists Essay Competition : Gov. Yahaya Bello Gives Cash Award To Winners

Spread the love

By: Abubakar S. H

Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State has awarded the winners of the Journalists essay writing competition conducted by GYB Media Consulting firm.

The Governor presented the award to winners of the essay writing competition at Glass House, Government House, Lokoja on Tuesday.

The competition which was organised by a Media Consulting firm, revealed that the sum of 2 million Naira was awarded to the first winner, Emmanuel Adeyemi, the second winner, Richard Elesho got 1 million while the third winner, Julius Atabor got 500,000.

Two other notable journalists in the state were also honoured, they are Comrade Adeiza Momohjimoh and Bashir Mohammed who went home with 250,000 each.

Consolation prizes of 100,000, 50,000 and 20,000 were also awarded at each of these levels. The awards comprised cash prizes, award plaques and certificates.

The Governor congratulated all winners and the organizers of the essay competition for materialising an idea which was mooted by the consultant for putting in place such competitions for encouraging all working Journalists in kogi state.

Observing that journalists are playing an important role in promoting the daily activities of government and the public, the Governor stressed that there is a need for providing multiple opportunities to journalists in the state, so that they could improve in their capacity to successfully meet up with their responsibilities with regard to tasks of building a virile Kogi State.

He pointed out that he will provide other opportunities for working journalists in the state, which he said another competition will come up soon by September, this year.

In his own remarks, the National President of Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, Comrade Chris Isiguzo thanked the governor for organizing the essay competition to encourage journalists in the state.

The president also showered encomium on the media consulting firm that handled the competion, saying that he was happy and excited with the event and assured the governor of their unflinching supports throughout his tenure.

Isiguzo recalled that the governor had some years back organized a similar award programmes, and presented such cash awards to some invited journalists across the country.

He observed that the idea behind instituting these awards was to provide an opportunity to every journalists to compete within Kogi State on topics on infrastructural transformation him(Governor).

He expressed satisfaction that this contest had further compliments and lauded his efforts which was put in place by Governor Bello in the area of infrastructural development in the state.

Earlier, the Commissioner for Information and Communications, Evangelist Kingsley Fanwo commended the monumental efforts of Governor Yahaya Bello saying that several projects executed are spread across the three senatorial districts in the state.

He enjoined all working Journalists in kogi state to promote the activities of government adding that the governor would continue to reward any practicing journalists that are very hardworking and promoting government programmes, he said.
The overall winner, Emmanuel Adeyemi, who was highly elated, expressed gratitude to God almighty and Governor Bello.

According to him, the N2 million prize was “a big shock”. Such gesture is an encouragement to media professionals in the state and also an eye opener for better performance,” he said.

Dr. Tunde Akanni, Associate Professor of Journalism at the Lagos State University, led the panel of five judges.

General Manager and Deputy Director, Radio Nigeria, Bimbo Oyetunde, who presented the scores on behalf of the panel, listed the criteria for the award of marks to include Grammar, Content and Flow, among others.

Other members of the panel include Eddy Odivwri, member, Editorial Board of This Day Newspapers; Ayo Olesin, Editor-in-Chief, The News Matrix and member, Nigerian Guild of Editors; and Gabriel Akinadewo, Managing Director, Freedom Online and Asst. Gen. Secretary, NGE, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *