Kogi Assembly Holds Valedictory Session As Eight Assembly Lawmakers Holds First Sitting Tomorrow

Spread the love

– Findings Shows Ebaiya TeamBest or Aliyu Assignment May Clinch Speakership Of Kogi Assembly

By:Abubakar S. H

The Kogi State House of Assembly on Monday June 5 held its valedictory session marking an end to the 7th legislative business.

It was learnt that, out of the 25 lawmakers-elect, three second term members are returning while 22 will be fresh lawmakers for the eight legislative session.

It would be recalled that the seventh Assembly was inaugurated on Thursday 4th June, 2019 by present Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Adoza Bello who will tomorrow issued a proclamation for the holding of the First Session of the Assembly in line with the the provision of Section 105 Subsection (3) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

Only three newly elected Assembly members are from Opposition party, the PDP, Bassa, Yagba East and Ogori-magongo while 22 others are from ruling party, APC.

In his valedictory speech, the Immediate past Speaker, Kogi State House of Assembly, Prince Mathew Kolawole while highlighting the achievement of the Assembly, says that “within the space of four years, several Bills were considered by members of the House.

” As mark of our commitment to good public service delivery, we passed Appropriation Bills in quickest possible time after proper and thorough Legislative scrutiny. Many of our Bills are potent enough to grow the economy and expand infrastructure for sustainable development.

Our Resolutions and policy direction have far-reaching effects on the lives of our people as evident in the life transforming programs and the New Direction Developmental Agenda of the State Government. 

” We created more opportunities for our people to contribute to law making process through our result-oriented public hearings and other interactive activities.  Through this means, we were able to restore public confidence in the Legislature. The impact of some of our laws may not manifest until years to come.

However, we are confident that when the history of the 7th Legislature shall be written, posterity will acknowledge our efforts” Kolawole added.

Meanwhile; the battle for who will become Speaker in the eight legislative Assembly has continued to generate heat in the State.

Nigerian Trend gathered that 22 lawmakers-elect are APC while only 3 are PDP in the Assembly.

One out of the two Assembly members elected from Lokoja one and two constituencies, Hon. Tijjani Ebaiya (TeamBest) and Hon. Umar Yusuf Aliyu(Assignment) may likely be considered for the speakership of the Assembly.

Though, the member from kogi (KK) state constituency  is also eyeing the speakership position but he was asked to withdraw for any of the two members from Lokoja.

The source also added that, the Deputy Speaker might remain in Kogi East as the current Deputy speaker is also from kogi East.

The Seventh Assembly is scheduled to be inaugurated on Tuesday, June 6, 2023 by the Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *