Kogi Guber Primary :Top 4 APC Governorship Aspirants To Succeed Yahaya Bello.

Spread the love

  • Sen. Adeyemi, Dep. Gov. Onoja, fmr Acct. Gen. Momoh or fmr. CoS Asuku May succeed Gov. Bello as Kogi governor.

Ahead of the Kogi state governorship election scheduled to hold on Saturday, November 11, 2023, All Progressives Congress (APC) is set to conduct the primaries through either Direct or Indirect.

It would be recalled that 18 governorship aspirants obtained nomination forms, screened by the ruling party in Abuja.

The findings has recently shown that one out of four governorship aspirants are likely to pick the ticket at the coming polls, they are :Committee Chairman on FCT, Sen. Smart Adeyemi, Deputy Governor, Edward Onoja, fmr Acct. Gen. Momoh Jibrin and Chief of Staff, Abdulkareem Jamiu Asuku.

Among the 18 aspirants,only four are presently leading the race, in term of Kogi politics and one of them may pick the governorship ticket at the primary which slated for 14,April.

Senator Smart Adeyemi is currently representing Kogi West Senatorial District in the 9th National Assembly.
Sen. Smart Adeyemi has built his political structures that cut accross the three senatorial districts of kogi state and was elected senator three times.

One of the leading aspirant is the present Deputy Governor of kogi state, Elder Edward Onoja, appears to have a closer relationship with his principal, Governor Yahaya Bello and this may boost his chances at the primary.

Momoh Jibrin is an humble and most quiet person among the four leading aspirants. He is the Accountant General of kogi state. He grew up with the Governor and he is one of the closest confidant to Gov. Bello.

Jamiu AbdulKareem Asuku is the current Chief of Staff to the Kogi state governor. Though he may not have the kind of widespread influence that Onoja and Senator Adeyemi have in the politics of Kogi state, Asuku may also take the advantage of his working relationship with the Governor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *