July 15, 2024

VC FUL, Prof. Akinwunmi Olayemi is Guest Speaker at 2023 Nigerianpost annual lecture, awards slated to hold 24th August.

Spread the love

By Abubakar S. H

The Vice Chancellor, Federal University Lokoja, Prof. Akinwunmi Olayemi is to serve as guest speaker at the 2023 Nigerianpost Newspaper annual public lecture and award series.

The 2023 Nigerianpost Newspaper Annual Lecture and Impact Series/Awards is expected to hold Thursday, August 24th, 2023 at the Federal University Auditorium, Adankolo Campus, Lokoja. The Kogi State Governor, Alh. Yahaya Bello is to also serve as the Special Guest of Honour.

According to a statement signed by Abu Michael, Publisher/Editor in Chief, the event is part of activities to mark the anniversary of the creation of Kogi State, would be under the Chairmanship of Alhaji Abdulrazaq Isa Kutepa, Chairman/CEO Waltersmith Petroman while Alhaji Suleiman Baba Ali, former Health Commissioner in Kogi State would Co-chair the occasion.

His Royal Majesty, Alhaji Abdulrazaq Isah Koto, Ohimegye Igu Kotonkarfe is to serve as the Royal Father of the occasion.

The Nigerianpost lecture series, with the theme “Kogi @ 32: Sustaining Unity, Peace of The Confluence, This House Must Not Fall”, would be delivered by the Vice Chancellor Federal University Lokoja, Prof. Akinwunmi Olayemi.

According to the statement, the occasion would have other keynote speakers expected to deliver thought provoking papers at the event.

The statement further adds that the 2023 The Nigerianpost Lecture series would critically look at Politics, Unity, Security and Stability with emphasis on the forthcoming November Governorship election in the State.

The choice of the topic according to the statement is informed by the need to contribute to the political development, engender peace and cohesion of a heterogeneous Confluence State.

The statement further adds that the event is dedicated to finding workable solutions to the challenges associated with forthcoming election, national security, peace and stability of the State.

The event according to the statement “is also organised to honour key political actors, players in the private sector, individuals and heads of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) among others, who have proven their worth in specific areas of governance and human endeavours.”

The Kogi State Commissioner for Information and Communication, Hon Kingsley Fanwo and the Chairman of NUJ, Comr. Adeiza Momohjimoh would be the Chief Host of the 2023 Nigerianpost lecture and award series.

Some of those listed for the awards at the event are Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state who is nominated as Nigerianpost Man of the Year in the area of Fiscal Transparency and Accountability.

The Kogi State Commissioner for Finance, Budget and Economic Planning, Asiwaju Asiru Idris and the Accountant General, Alhaji Jibrin Momoh, would be honored for their positive impacts that culminated into the transparency rating the administration of Gov Yahaya Bello has earned over the years.

The Vice Chancellor’s Federal University Lokoja, Prince Abubakar Audu University Ayingba and the Confluence University of Science and Technology, Osara, would also be honored for there outstanding performances in quality learning and infrastructure development in the State.

Others lined up for recognition include Engr. Joan Oguche, the Kogi State Coordinator, HYPPADEC, Provost College of Nursing Obangede, Mrs. Abraham Serah and Hon. Funsho Olumoko, one time Chairman, Ijumu LGA

Also listed for the Nigerianpost outstanding Council Chairmen of the Year awards are the Council Chairmen of Okene, Ankpa and Ijumu LGAs in Grassroots development.

The former Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory, Hajia Ramatu Tijani Aliyu is also billed to receive outstanding Public Servant of the Year award for her public servant leadership.

BN Ceramics and West Africa Ceramics Ajaokuta would be honored with quality brand award while Kogi State NEWMAP and the State Coordinator of HYPPADEC, Engr. Joan Oguche would be Honoured for outstanding quality performances in controlling environmental degradation.

Others to be honoured are Sen. Isah Jibrin Echocho and Hon. Abdullahi Halims, Deputy Majority Leader, HoR as (Outstanding Legislators and Perfect bridges in peace building and empowerment)

Thompson Makolo Jnr. and Baba Ojonugwa, would be honored with the Kogi outstanding (Young Person of the Year) Award in the Nollywood and Music Industry while Ahammed Shaba would be honoured for his immense contribution to the music and broadcast industry, culminating into the establishment of a private radio station.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *